Trying to remove duplicate contacts from your MessageDesk account? Then you're in the right spot 👍


NOTE: MessageDesk already blocks duplicate numbers when you are creating a contact manually. Although, if you import your contacts via CSV there may be some duplicates that show up in your contact list.

If you are a QuickBooks or Xero user, you will not have access to this feature as you will need to remove duplicates in the application they originated. Read more about removing duplicate contacts on Quickbooks and Xero.

If you are importing contacts, you can always avoid duplicates by selecting "Update Existing Contacts" at the end of the import process.


In this article, I'll show you how to merge your duplicate contacts in MessageDesk:

  1. First, navigate to Settings > Merge Contacts.

  2. Choose the filter under which you would like to search for contacts.

  3. Use the checkboxes on the right column to select the information you would like to populate on the merged version of the contact.

  4. Use the dropdown menu to select which duplicate contact's information you are looking at.

  5. Finally, select "Merge and Delete Duplicates."

Here's an in-depth look at every step:

Step 1: First, navigate to Settings > Merge Contacts.

Step 2: On the first look, there may be "No Duplicate Contacts Found." MessageDesk will first check for duplicate phone numbers. Make sure to adjust the filter accordingly to search for duplicates in other ways as well.

For example, when I am looking for any duplicate contacts I have none appear by phone number. But, I set my filter to First & Last name and I find I have two Ben Nebeskys.

Step 3: Once you have selected the duplicate contact you would like to edit the right side of the screen will populate. On the left side will be all of the information that will appear on the final version of the contact. On the right is one of the duplicate contact's information.

Select the desired information that you would like to appear on the final merged contact.

Step 4: Use the dropdown menu above the right column to select which duplicate contact you are looking at.

Step 5: The left column will have all information that will appear on the final merged contact. When that looks correct, select "Merge and Delete Duplicates."

Did this answer your question?